Cameron Tringale Disqualified from the PGA Championship

This Friday, Cameron Tringale was unfortunately disqualified from the PGA Championship after he signed an incorrect scorecard after his round. 


Cameron Tringale
@camtring Excited to be back in the office this week with a new bag for my tools! @proathletenetwork looking gooood. ???? ???????? ???? #yournextbigmove *link in bio* (Source)

According to Golf Digest, Tringale realized his error while he was checking the leaderboard on his phone at lunch. Tringale signed a scorecard saying he shot a three on the par-three eighth hole when in reality he shot a bogey. Rule 3.3(b)3 states that if a player signs for a score higher than what he shot, they keep the higher score, but if they sign for a score lower than what they shot, they are disqualified from the tournament.

While Tringale wouldn’t have made the cut from the stroke added on for his bogey, he still reported his mistake to PGA officials and was disqualified from the major tournament.

Being disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard is certainly a rare occurrence, but it is not the first time this has happened to Tringale.

Back in 2014, one week following that year’s PGA Championship, Tringale reported that he accidentally swung over the ball on a practice stroke and didn’t record it on his scorecard. After he notified the PGA of this he was disqualified, and his T-36 placement and $53,000 prize were revoked.


Cameron Tringale
@camtring *Giveaway ???? Time*. I am stoked to be back in the 313 for the @rocketclassic and the nostalgia is real. A lot sure can happen in a year, and even though much has changed, I am beyond grateful to continue to play the game I love. As a thanks to all those who supported last year, and the fans I miss this year, I wanted to give away 3 special edition @GreysonClothiers polos with the Detroit 313 logo on the left sleeve. These are the exact shirts I wore last year en route to a top 5 finish. Birds of Prey, Batweb, and Blue Valentine Polos, size Medium. To enter, simply:   Follow me and @greysonclothiers
Like this photo
Tag a friend in the comments One lucky winner will be announced on Tuesday, July 7th! Good luck.
Photo creds: Gregory Shamus for Times Union
(Source)

RELATED: Camilo Villegas’ 22-Month-Old Daughter Passes Away Following Battle With Brain and Spine Cancer

One would think that after making such a grave mistake, especially during a major, Tringale would check his scorecard more vigorously before signing it. At the very least, it is nice to see that Tringale was a good sport and took responsibility for his mistakes.

%d bloggers like this: