Who’s Taking Home their 2nd Stanley Cup: Dallas Stars or Tampa Bay Lightning?

Who’s Taking Home the Stanley Cup: Stars or Lightning?

24 teams traveled to the two NHL bubbles at the end of September to start the NHL postseason, and seven weeks later, we are down to two teams. With the Stanley Cup Final starting on Saturday, the Stanley Cup will be awarded to a new team before the end of September. The Dallas Stars are looking for their second Stanley Cup Championship, and the Tampa Bay Lightning are looking for their second cup as well. With puck drop imminent, who will be crowned the 2020 Stanley Cup Champion?

View this post on Instagram

Definitely still pinching ourselves 🤩 #GoStars

A post shared by Dallas Stars (@dallasstars) on

Before the start of the postseason, I didn’t think the Stars had a leg to stand on. I thought the Stars would go 1-6 in the playoffs and that they should be fighting for their playoff hopes in the qualification stage instead of the Edmonton Oilers. I was slightly surprised that the Stars managed to beat the St. Louis Blues in the round-robin stage and the Calgary Flames in the first round, but I still thought there was no way they would beat my choice to be Western Conference Champions, the Colorado Avalanche.

Not only did the Stars beat the Avalanche in overtime in Game 7, but they made the fools of the Vegas Golden Knights, beating them in 5 games to win the Western Conference Final. The Stars have overcome the odds multiple times and proven the doubters like myself. They may have started the postseason overlooked, but the Stars have earned their Stanley Cup Final spot and the respect of the NHL community.

View this post on Instagram

Still not going home 😏 #GoStars

A post shared by Dallas Stars (@dallasstars) on

As soon as I heard the NHL would return to play in August, I said the Lightning would win the Stanley Cup. After going 2-1 in the round-robin, I had the Lightning winning the Stanley Cup. After their series wins against the Colombus Blue Jackets and Boston Bruins, I had the Lightning winning the Stanley Cup, so why would I change my tune now? Anton Khudobin has been nothing short of phenomenal this postseason, but the Tampa Bay Lightning’s high-octane offense has been unstoppable this postseason.

RELATED: Who Will Win Each of the Game 7s to Advance to the Conference Finals in Edmonton?

View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Tampa Bay Lightning (@tblightning) on

The Stars have shown true grit throughout these playoffs, but I have the Tampa Bay Lightning winning Lord Stanley’s Cup in 6 games and Brayden Point taking home the Conn Smythe Trophy.

About At The Buzzer

At The Buzzer, or ATB, is the place for those who love sports, life, family, community, and so much more. We are far from the run of the mill 24/7 sports news websites. We not only bring you what’s happening in the world of sports in terms of trades and breaking news, but we also bring you the news that goes on behind the scenes. The stuff you don’t see during the 48 minutes of an NBA game or the 60 minutes of an NFL game. We let you know what’s going on in the lives of your favorite athletes. From big life moments like becoming a mother or a father to highlighting personal videos of them raising their little ones, At The Buzzer is the place you go when you want to relate to the athlete you root for on a daily basis. If you're interested in how Russell Wilson juggles being one of the best quarterbacks in the league while also being a doting husband and father-of-three, we got you covered. Interested in seeing a video of Iman Shupert's three-month-old baby speaking her first words, we have that here at ATB. Or would you rather watch Tiger Woods' son growing up and following in his father's footsteps, don't worry, we can show you that too. At The Buzzer is so much more than sports. It's relatable, reliable, and ready to show you a side of sports you didn't know existed. Our goal at ATB is to bring you relatable, entertaining news that will leave you feeling closer and more informed about the people you are looking up to and rooting for. Sports are more than just a group of organizations that entertain you, it's about the people who make up those organizations and the stories of how they became the people they are today. So take a minute and read one of our articles, we promise you won't regret it.

%d bloggers like this: